Memento Mori: December 2020

Synitta Walker Delano
2 min readJan 1, 2021

--

artist/photographer unknown

December has proved to be better than November, so this has prompted me to end each monthly memento with what I want to come in the following month. However, this is the beginning of my December life recap. I usually do a yearly one, whether I post it or not is irrelevant. It happens. This year, I’m choosing to highlight 20 things that made a difference, to me. Some big, some small, all important and not necessarily in the order listed.

1. Kid Cudi released Man on the Moon III. This is being listed first because every memento that I post will have a Kid Cudi song attached (on IG). I also listen to him while I write these monthly postings.

2. I chose to align my life choices with my life purpose.

3. Me and my mother are on track to having a better relationship.

4. Enforced set boundaries repeatedly and as a result, starting to feel like my energy is being replenished. Slowly BUT surely.

5. Gave myself permission to be okay with the decisions I’ve made and need to make to become a better version of myself.

6. Strengthened friendships that are mutually desired.

7. Apologized more to the daughter.

8. Said “I love you” more.

9. Made room for new friendships, alliances, and opportunities.

10. Read 40 books.

11. Watched A Million Little Things (Season 1 — current episode) and cried like a silent baby.

12. Actually sat still.

13. Wrote more.

14. Became a trained mental health advocate.

15. Finally received a solid job offer after being unemployed (due to this raggedy pandemic) for eight months.

16. Listened to thousands of hours of music.

17. Moved across the country.

18. Rested.

19. Loved myself more.

20. Turned 41 years old.

I must also acknowledge that a lot of December was cloudy, despite having the good reflections above. The money was running out and my main concern was being able to continue to take care of myself and the daughter. The kindness of strangers AND friends helped me push through and the level of gratitude I have for that cannot be expressed in words. I reflected on that when some days seemed like employment just wasn’t going to happen in 2020. With the help of those friends AND strangers, along with prayers to the ancestors and faith that had been whittled down to a mustard seed, shit turned around. With that being said, may January continue to be the open door of greatness it’s starting off to be, not just for myself but also for anyone reading this and our connections.

I hope everyone has a far better new year than the debacle of last year.
Here’s to greatness in January AND the rest of 2021.

--

--

Synitta Walker Delano

Smoldering fire breather. Unicorn. Wordslayer. Beauty and Booty lover. Director of dope shit. Eclectic. Creative. The picture you just painted.